October 24, 2014

REVIEW: Once Perfect (Shattered Past #1) By, Cecy Robson

 photo GR_zps5fe521f1.jpg

His life was never easy. Hers wasn’t supposed to be this hard. They come from different worlds, but fate lures them together in a way neither expected in Cecy Robson’s raw, steamy New Adult debut—perfect for fans of Monica Murphy and J. Lynn.

Evelyn Preston’s future once looked perfect—until her wealthy father was caught in an embezzlement scandal and took his own life. Alone and struggling to pay her college tuition and bills, Evelyn finds a job as a waitress at the ultra-hip nightclub Excess, where she used to have more in common with the privileged private-school clientele than her fellow staff members. But something attracts her to the sexy six-foot-four bouncer and underground MMA fighter Mateo Tres Santos. Although they’ve led different lives, their troubled pasts bonds them in both survival and love.

Mateo is ex-army who wound up in prison for assaulting the man who harmed his sister. Now he’s feeling the same protective impulse for this petite blond waitress. When Evelyn experiences a panic attack at the club, Mateo comes to her rescue. And when Mateo is wounded shielding her from a brawl, Evelyn returns the favor and comes to his aid.

As their attraction intensifies, Mateo is determined to find out what nightmares are lurking in Evelyn’s past—even if that means tackling his own to save her.

Everyone has a past. Mateo has had a harder life than most. Trying to protect his family, he was sent to prison for doing what he felt was right. He lost everything that he worked for. He lost his military career and a year of his life. Now his is a bouncer at a bar watching a waitress that won’t give him the time of day. Until she does. Evelyn had a privileged life. One with lots of money and power, but also one that was fact. Until it all came crashing down around her. Now she is waitressing at a bar trying to make ends meet and pay for her nursing school Evie is also trying to deny the pull Mateo hold at the bar. What she doesn’t know is that there is more to her tough past than she lets herself remember.

“Want to know something?” He asked, his hands sliding over my waist. I nodded, unable to speak from the force of his stare. “You’re the best thing that’s ever happened to me.”

This book was just ok for me. It wasn’t great but it wasn’t my favorite either. There were a lot of cliché and predictable moments. You could see the twist from the first time it’s mentioned. This was very low key in the sex department for a contemporary romance. Not that it’s a bad thing. I just expected more I guess. The time line in the book was really fast as well. Some chapters had weeks between them.

“You’re the good in mine. Please, let me stay the good in yours…”

Even after the mentioned above things there were definitely some good things about this book. We got a look into a culture that not every person would have known about. Mateo is Latino and we get to see how certain family dynamic take place in his household. Mateo was also a big plus. He was sweet and caring even though he is huge and intimidating. The writing was done well. The flow of the story worked and even though it wasn’t for me there was enough interesting pieces that I finished the book.  

“Life hadn’t initially been good to either of us. But we were good to each other. And regardless of the demons of out pasts, nothing would change that.”

Overall I just think this book wasn’t for me. I have heard great things about this author even though this is the only book I have read. I will definitely be picking up more from her. If you like a sweet MMA bad-ass this book would be great for you.

 photo Amazon-app-button-small_zps54177e63.jpg    photo bead2577-80fb-402c-90c7-6f000b3d3789_zps2b17ea00.png    photo d792da2a-9d07-4a96-81bb-2c4ce19e18fe_zpsac0345c1.png    photo button-kobo_zps35253357.jpg

 photo 20699759_zps8eb6b777.jpg   photo 22890017_zpsd028341e.jpg

Connect with Cecy